December 5, 2022

Gbolahan Salman Sokoto

Ahead of the 2023 General Elections in the country, more members of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party , PDP in Sokoto state have continued to defects from the party for the opposition All Progressives congress, APC in the state.

The latest development was In Isa Local Government Area of Sokoto eastern Zone, where the leaders of the party ward executives at Turba, Bafarawa and Bargaja wards have defected to  APC, citing lack of certainty and trust as some of the few reasons that forced them out of the PDP.

In Turba Ward, some prominent of the PDP that defected to APC according to a press statement signed by the special assistant on media and publicity to Senator Aliyu Wamakko, Bashar Abubakar, and made available to newsmen in the state  are: Alhaji  Sa’idu Kyaibaba, the Legal Adviser to PDP in the ward,  Alhaji Umaru Shalla, Financial Secretary, Ibrahim Dadi, Assistant Financial Secretary, Alh. Garba Dan Gambo, Auditor and Alh Yahuza Sama’ila Gawakuke, a Youth leader in the ward.

Others are: Alh. Garba Kyaibaba, kaiybaba “A”  Polling Unit Chairman, Alh.Ummaru Ajayi, Kyaibaba “B” Polling Unit, Alhaji Danjaji,  Turba town Youth leader, Shallah Polling Unit Chairman Alh. Habibu Shalla, Gidan Kaso town Women leader Hajiya Rabi Kyaibaba and Alh. Sarkin Fawa Madattai, as well as Alh. Yashishi Aliyu, a party official  in the area.

Similarly, at Bafarawa ward in the same Isa local government area, many leaders have left  PDP for APC as they largely blamed their leaders at state level for not showing any concern to their plight.

Among the defectors are; Alh. Tanko Suruddubi, PDP youth leader in the area, Alh Ibrahim Dangusau, party official, Alh. Sa’adu Gyalama party official, Alh. Jaji Mosi Suruddubi, Chairman, Makaranta Polling Unit and Alh. Garba Yahaya, Chairman, Maidamisa Polling Unit.

All the defectors were humbly and energetically received into the APC by Alh. Ibrahim Lamido Isa the candidate for the seat of Senator for the Sokoto East Senatorial District for the forthcoming 2023 elections.

Alh.Ibrahim  was represented by the APC chairman of Goronyo Local Government area, Alhaji Kabiru Sarkin Fulani and a former Chaimran of Isa Local Government area, Alhaji Sharifu Abubakar Kamarawa.

Some of the defectors informed the gathering that they abondoned their party as it has been receiving blows from all angles in the state.

They said PDP has woefully failed to deliver on its mandate for almost eight years in Sokoto state.

In another development, leaders of PDP in Bargaja Ward have also dumped the party for APC and restated their unflinching support and loyalty to the candidature of Alh Ibrahim Lamido Isa as Senator in the zone.

The new entrants include; Alh. Isah  Garba from Lugu town, Alh. Yahaya Salihu, a youth leader in the area, Alh. Adamu Haruna Arume and Bashar La:una Sabon Hegi, among others.

They mostly attributed their exit from PDP to lack of courage and political will to drive them to the promised land.

Speaking on behalf of APC Senatorial Candidate in the zone, Alhaji Ibrahim Lamido Isa,  APC chairman of Goronyo Local Government , Alh Kabiru Sarkin Fulani, while welcoming the defectors into APC assured them of equal treatment in the party.

Lamido saluted their courage and the level of commitment they exhibited, just as  he challenged them to redouble their efforts towards ensuring the victory of APC in the zone and the state as a whole.

He described APC structure in the state under Senator Aliyu Magatakarda Wamakko as one powerful engine that can hardly break despite all odds.

He assured them that, if given the mandate, he will ensure the provision of myriad dibidends of democracy in the area.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: